Awarding Excellence – Foundation Day Honors

Share this:
Graphic: Suman Sutradhar

IIT Khargapur honoured ten of its faculty members on the occasion of the 70th Foundation Day to recognise their excellent contributions at all levels of the career path of a teacher. The Institute conferred three Chair Professorships for full Professors and five Faculty Excellence Awards for Associate and Assistant Professors based on (a) Peer Recognition / National or International Awards, (b) Research Output, (c) Teaching Feedback, (d) Sponsored Projects. Additionally the alumni foundations of the Institute in India and USA conferred two more faculty awards – the G S Sanyal Award for Faculty Excellence by the IIT KGP Foundation USA and the Excellence Young Teacher Award by the IIT KGP Foundation India.

The Chair Professorships are awarded for a 3 year term which may be renewed once. The award amount will be Rs 25,000/- per month over and above the salary. The Faculty Excellence Awards are being instituted for the amount of Rs 15,000/- per month  to be added to their salary, for a 2-3 year term depending upon cases. These annual awards and recognitions are aimed to motivate the academic community who has been nurturing students’ excellence and also attract brighter students. Further at mid and entry levels the awards recognise their contributions in academics and research.

The recipients are:

Institute Chair Professor Award:
Prof. Susanta Banerjee, Materials Science Centre,
Prof. M. M. Ghangrekar, Dept. of Civil Engineering,
Prof. Sirshendu De, Dept of Chemical Engineering

Faculty Excellence Award (Associate Professor):
Prof. Modhu Sudan Maji, Dept of Chemistry and
Prof. Debarati Sen, G S Sanyal School of Telecommunication

G S Sanyal Award for Faculty Excellence:
Dr Shailendra Kumar Varshney, Dept of Electronics and Electrical Communication Engineering

Faculty Excellence Award (Assistant Professor):
Dr. Akhilesh Kumar, Dept of Industrial & Systems Engineering,
Dr. Partha Pratim Jana, Dept of Chemistry,
Dr. Amit Ghosh, School of Energy Science & Engineering

Excellent Young Teacher Award:
Dr. Rajesh Kannan, Dept of Mathematics

The Institute is also recently invited nominations for Staff Excellence Awards which will be given annually to one member of each Category A, B and C.

Graphic: Arnab Moitra

The award amount is Rs 50,000/-. Staff members both permanent or under Institute contract who have worked continuously for a minimum of 5 years and made significant impact on the Institute’s functioning through outstanding dedication, competence and exceptional performance, excellent service to academic community and staff and ingenuity, are eligible for this award. The recipients are:

Shri Pratap Chandra Das, Deputy Registrar of Purchase and E-III (Recruitment section) in Group A category,

Mr. Soumik Basu, Assistant Engineer of E & M unit of IW section in Group B category and

Mr. Sabyasachi Patra, Senior Assistant of Registrar’s office jointly with Mr. Premansu Nag, Senior Technician of CSE in Group C category

By Shreyoshi Ghosh

1 Comment

  • Thanks to all. I am grateful for receiving the award. I thank the jury for finding me worthy to received this award. I also recognize the other staffs who have not been awarded but have contributed immensely fot our IIT. This award reminds me every time about our IIT in life. Thanks to all.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts